How Does Knowing Arabic Grammar Help with Hifdh?

We’re into week 7 now alhamdulillah, and Ustaadh Adam keeps telling us that we have covered the fundamentals of the fundamentals of Arabic grammar, and that we are now free of the floaties and the noodles. We can now doggie paddle, and we at least won’t drown.

I have been reviewing my hifdh, though not at a pace I’m happy with. But subhaanallah, I am realizing every week as we progress in Bayyinah, that knowledge of Arabic grammar helps tremendously in hifdh. I always tend to make harakah mistakes in hifdh. At my age, continuous drills don’t work wonders as it would to someone younger, so I rely on meaning when memorizing. My TA alhamdulillah is very accessible and welcomes us to come with Quran-related questions, and oh boy, do I have a lot of them. I find joy now in flipping through the pages of the mushaf and just reading it in my head and noticing the grammar rules and applications that we have learned so far and every time that happens, it’s a “Wow! Subhaanallah!” moment. Precious!

I was having a lot of trouble with this ayah in my review:

3:80
Sahih International

Nor could he order you to take the angels and prophets as lords. Would he order you to disbelief after you had been Muslims? 3:80

We had just learned about forbidding and commanding and majzoom last week. When I was reviewing this page after covering that chapter in class, I tried to figure out why one is ya2murakum and the other is ya2murukum. I had a hunch based on what we learned but I had to ask my TA to confirm. Ask I did, and subhanallah…it’s like a door has been opened to me and a flood of light shone in. Wa laa ya2murakum is because this ayah is a continuation from the previous one.
3:79
Sahih International

It is not for a human [prophet] that Allah should give him the Scripture and authority and prophethood and then he would say to the people, “Be servants to me rather than Allah ,” but [instead, he would say], “Be pious scholars of the Lord because of what you have taught of the Scripture and because of what you have studied.” 3:79

In this ayat, the harf أن makes the فعل after it mansoob, and that’s why it’s yu2tiyA and then yaqoolA. But, this أن carries over to the next ayat, ayat 80, and so it still has an effect on ya2murakum. It’s not ya2murUkum but it’s ya2murAkum.
Then aya2murUkum is like that because this is the start of a new ‘sentence’ if you will, so the فعل is in its normal form with the dhammah on the last letter of the basic form of its present tense.
In Quran, the idea of verses/sentences (which is what we usually translate ayat to) is not like how we understand it in English. In Quran, the distinction between ayaat might be obvious by the stop signs, but in actuality, an ayat might be comprised of a couple of these ‘sentences’.
I know this might be a little too technical, but the point is that, subhaanallah, knowing Arabic grammar really makes a huge difference! We’re only into week 7 now, but the Quran has been opened up to us significantly just by knowing these little things and I’m sure this is only the tip of the iceberg. If anyone is thinking of furthering study of Arabic grammar or starting it up, I highly recommend you pursue it. It may sound dry, and it is dry, but it’s worth it. What it opens up for you is worth going through the dryness. I’m the farthest person from Arabic grammar in terms of personal inclination, but wanting to connect more with Quran pushed me towards it and alhamdulillah for that. I realized that I can’t run away from it forever. I also have to admit that I actually enjoy it. Some parts of it are dry, but I love the scrutinizing aspect of it. In that sense it’s like algebra. It’s also like detective work, and kind of like figuring out a puzzle. To be fair, it’s not as dry as people may make it out to be, especially when you apply it to the Quran.

4 thoughts on “How Does Knowing Arabic Grammar Help with Hifdh?

  1. Jazakillahu khairan…Alhamdulillah I too am a student of Hifdh and Arabic grammar..and i agree with you..arabic grammar is a beautiful subject..

Leave a Reply

