Allergy-Friendly ‘Egg’ Rolls

This Eid, I made egg rolls for the Eid potluck on the morning of Eid. I made it the day before, refrigerated it and reheated it on the morning of Eid. I also made an allergy-friendly version for Z using the Vietnamese Rice Wrapper sheets. I have made these before, but the difference this time is, I fried them. I read somewhere to fry them with low fire so it won’t splatter.

For some reason, when I fried them this time, they didn’t splatter at all. Then again, I did leave them for a while before frying them, so maybe the water had dried up anyway. I also did use low fire, so that probably helped too. At any rate, the frying process was easy alhamdulillah.

In terms of egg versus spring rolls, I prefer making egg rolls. They’re more cooperative somehow and I like the egg roll wrapper better. The first time I tasted egg rolls was when a local Chinese Muslim sister made it and brought it to our sisters’ halaqa in Columbus, Ohio. Boy, was it good! Her dipping sauce was delish too!

Recently, I had made egg rolls with salmon as part of the filling. It was surprisingly good! Even people who didn’t like fish loved it! This time for Eid though, I made it with ground beef. I personally prefer it with a vegetable filling and maybe some shrimp or salmon. When it’s filled with something that’s not as scattered as ground beef, I actually like to slice it diagonally in the middle and arrange it so that the cross section would show from the top. It looks nice when there are carrots and some greens in it. It also doubles the amount (tip for potlucks) automatically🙂

Anyway, now that I know that frying these rice rolls are not that terrifying, I’m more willing to make them again for Z next time inshaaAllah. He ate this on Eid, and even on the day after Eid. They were good! Alhamdulillah!

Some parts that are not browned do kind of stick to each other, so you have to take these gently.

Some parts that are not browned do kind of stick to each other, so you have to take these gently.

What I love about egg rolls are those bubbles on the skin.

What I love about egg rolls are those bubbles on the skin.

 

Leave a Reply

