To Follow or To Follow?

I was faced with 2 choices:

1. To follow the sunnah and oppose what was customary to people and face destruction and be ostracized by people.

2. To follow what is customary and be a conformer and not a dissenter which would cause the people to be pleased with me but earn me destruction in the hereafter.

I decided that salvation lay in the “destruction” of following the Sunnah, and that the people would avail me nothing before Allah

– Imam Al Shatibi (d. 1388) in Al I’tisam

Leave a Reply

