The End. The Beginning.

One more week inshaaAllah, and the end of something that has affected and changed my heart for four years will be here. The wonderful bond I believe that has been formed between us throughout those four years, through helping each other with missed notes, confirming if there really is no voice or if it’s a personal computer issue, reminding each other of upcoming tests and assignments, highlighting the words from the word list as word analysis is going on, holding our weekly group meetings during which we grew accustomed to hearing each other recite, bumbling through translation, and taking turns to head the group, is a precious side benefit.

Tears pooled in my eyes last night. My heart is feeling the sadness of the imminent end of this particular journey. As some of us expressed this feeling, I grew even more melancholy. I have planned for this end since, oh, maybe a year ago. Not in a sense of celebration. No. But in making sure I don’t enter an abyss of idleness, as per the advice of our group in charge. By and by, opportunities came to me to avoid that abyss, alhamdulillah. I took them, but then I found myself somewhat overwhelmed. And then, with Allah’s help,  I found myself coping and managing, and finding more strength to take on more. Then more opportunities came, and my heart changed. I found myself upon new pursuits. Subhanallah.

The Quran is truly a wonderful amazing thing indeed. It is after all, the words of Allah Out of His mercy, Allah has given us the honor and permission to utter and recite His words. If that is not amazing, I don’t know what is. This journey started from the beginning, and as we approached the end, I could feel that the Quran is carrying us on this journey with themes that seem to fit into how we have developed and grown. In this week’s class, one ayat stuck out to me on Wednesday, from surah As-Sharh7

94:7
Sahih International

So when you have finished [your duties], then stand up [for worship].

Yes, we are nearing the end. We are almost ‘done’, but it’s not the end. It’s just the beginning. When this ayah was covered, subhanallah, it felt like Allah is talking to us directly;
“You’re almost there, and once you are, don’t stop. Take up another pursuit towards Me.”
The word  نَصَبَ literally means to fix something so it stands straight. So, when you have completed your duties, fix yourself upon another duty.
On Thursday, yesterday, what I felt through the ayaat covered, was a sense of farewell.
Surah Zalzalah
99:1
Sahih International

When the earth is shaken with its [final] earthquake

We will go on living until our death, and on one final day, this above will occur.
99:6
Sahih International

That Day, the people will depart separated [into categories] to be shown [the result of] their deeds.

All that we have toiled for in this life will come forth on that day. All the effort we put in, we will see them on that day. This journey or that journey, all that will be apparent on that day. After this journey ends for us students, we may each go our own separate ways, taking up something else towards His pleasure inshaaAllah. And we will toil and toil until we return to Him, inshaaAllah. Then that day will come. That day where all that we have worked for, we will see them.
Last night, I found my heart filled with utmost love for my fellow coursemates, group and course in charges. There is a bond that unites us; the bond of learning the Quran. It is a bond that is strong inshaaAllah. It is a bond that inshaaAllah will reunite us in the hereafter. Ameen.
This is the end. Yet, it’s also a beginning. Some of us have already begun  our new pursuits. May Allah continue to give us taufeeq to toil and strive for His cause, to gain His pleasure, and may He give us taufeeq to be affected by the knowledge we are pursuing and change us into those whom He is pleased with. Ameen. Thumma Ameen.
Leave a Reply

