Arabic With Husna: Behind the Scenes

Two of the kids and I have been doing Arabic With Husna every weekday morning after fajr, after listening to Juz Amma tafseer for a few ayaat. I find it manageable to do and follow considering our schedule. Though on some days, when Nr has class at 7 am, or Zd has therapy starting at 8:15 am, or I have group at 6:30 am, we have had to shift it around a little bit. But so far, alhamdulillah, we have been sticking to this and may Allah give us istiqaamah in this, Ameen.

I have never really been a fan of Arabic. I learned Arabic grammar in high school, for 5 years, but I never took it seriously. All I remember is there are fi3l maadhi Mudhaari3. In my final year of high school, because we were already taking 10 subjects, which was the maximum then, and taking the comprehensive final exam for those 10 subjects, we were exempted from taking the Arabic in our comprehensive, as opposed to all the other final year classes, for whom it is obligatory to take Arabic comprehensive finals. So whenever it came time for our Arabic period in our school day, it was mostly with an attitude of ‘Oh, this is a period for relaxing, because after all, we’re not going to be tested on this anyway’. At least that was my attitude. One of my classmate though mashaaAllah, despite not taking taking the Arabic comprehensive, went on to study medicine in Egypt.

My journey with learning Arabic is best described like a toggle button, with ‘off’ being its default state . I was never really interested in it. Especially grammar. I’m quite bad at grammar of any language. For English (which is my second language), it’s only manageable for me because I basically absorbed the application of grammar through profuse reading of English  literature from a young age. So when it came to learning the rules, it was a little easier, though I don’t really care much for it except for when I have to apply it in proof reading my writings. In other words, I’m not the type who would enthusiastically learn a foreign language.

However, as my journey with Quran began, and began to grow, I realize the importance of learning Arabic. I probably realized the importance of learning it because most Islamic ilm resources are in Arabic, but it didn’t really strike me fully until I began to learn and love the Quran. Subhanallah. No wonder the scholars say to begin  learning the deen by learning the Quran. There are not enough words nor eloquence for me to express how magnificent this Quran is. I also realize that as a person begins to memorize the Quran, learning Arabic grammar becomes even more beneficial.

I love the posts on the details of knowing Arabic grammar on this blog: How to Memorise the Quraan. It really shows the miracle and linguistic beauty of the Quraan  and make you appreciate it more. I am no  longer content with just reading translations, because now I know how lacking translations can be subhanallah.

This particular post, The Scholars fear Allah, shows how important it is to properly recite the Quran and pay attention to its minutest detail such as the harakat/tashkeel. The answer to the question in that post is given in this post. This post shows how adding or taking away a letter in a word changes the meaning of the word, where in translation, it may be translated with the same word. Subhanallah, growing up in a majority Muslim country where I was taught how to read and recite the Quran with proper tajweed from a young age and attending a religious Islamic boarding school for five years, I wasn’t even aware of this linguistic beauty of the Quran. This post on Muslim Matters, A Deeper Look at Emaan, shows how rich the Arabic language really is. I fell in love with word analysis when the word Yash3uroon was dissected in my Al Huda Taleem Quran class.

Today, I was just printing more handouts from Arabic With Husna, as I had printed out some of them before and we’re approaching the end of those. I was looking through the available hand outs, and I noticed that Unit 2 handouts are already made available. It is going to be a cumulative review of what was taught by going over surah Al Kahf. I love it! I look forward to going through these with the kids inshaaAllah. Even Zd is somewhat benefiting by referring to me as ‘anti’ after I corrected him several times when he referred to me as ‘anta’ while we were busy reviewing the pronouns.

Watching this gives us an overall look at what we are reaching towards inshaaAllah. May Allah reward Ustadh Nouman, his family, and all those involved in this effort. Ameen. May Allah facilitate this for us and make the ummah realize and appreciate the beauty and importance of Arabic. Ameen!

3 thoughts on “Arabic With Husna: Behind the Scenes

  1. Hi,
    I am also studying Arabic through this resource
    I am having some trouble along with way, with certain exercises
    Can i contact you further for specific details of where I need your help?

Leave a Reply

