Peach Cake By Ina Garten

Every year, I look forward to what I can find at the Farmer’s Market in summer. I love fruits! My father used to buy crates of fruits on Sundays (market day) and I would joyfully partake of the heavenly provision throughout the day. I remember devouring oranges, and especially mangoes! I would peel one whole mango, go back up to my reading, and eat the whole mango by myself and only going back down to the kitchen after I end up with a clean mango pit.

Here in New Mexico, in summer, we’ve had peaches, apples, plums, watermelons, cantaloupes, honeydews, grapes from the Farmer’s market. I’ve never seen berries though. Maybe it’s too hot. But in the past, I’ve never mde any fresh baked-product from these fresh fruits. I remember baking a whole bunch of baked products using fresh raspberries that we picked in Columbus, but that was it. This year, we tried making apple pies from fresh apples (well, S did) and I’ve always wanted to try making something from fresh peaches. I also noticed that the peaches were disappearing, so before they went out of season, I decided to just try making something that uses them.

I found Ina Garten’s recipe for Peach Cake, and emailed the kids not to finish the peaches we had just bought. They can finish those peaches in less than a day. So they left some for me and I told the girls to peel them. I was still actually quite busy, but I had to make it then or I’d never make it. So I delegated some pre-baking prep work to the kids. I had told them to just follow the recipe and bake it but they wanted me to bake it because they were afraid of ending up with something inedible. So I did. It was a delicious cake!!!! Alhamdulillah.

I had some leftover sour cream so I told them to save me more peaches and told S to prepare all the ingredients so I could just bake it. This was during a time when I was VERY busy and was multitasking and VERY distracted. She prepped the ingredients and I went ahead and baked it. But it didn’t rise. After it was done, I realized that maybe it didn’t have baking powder. I was right. S didn’t put it. I was pretty upset because I had taken the time out of my busy schedule to make it and it didn’t rise. That was a real bummer, but we finished it anyway. But this is recipe is definitely a keeper!

The recipe can be found here.

2 thoughts on “Peach Cake By Ina Garten

  1. Assalamu’alaykum wrh wbkth Kakjuli.. just dropping by to say salam. HUGSS. Btw, the cake looks scrumptious masyaAllaah :))

Leave a Reply

