Making My Own Facial Moisturizer

I’ve had this on my To do list for a while now. I’ve even restrained myself from purchasing Burt’s Bees Night Cream which I love. I’ve just been putting this off too long, and today of all days, a day when I am quite swamped with things to do, I chose to undertake this task. It has been a while since I made this cold cream, but I vaguely remember being very pleased with it the very first time I tried it when we were still in Ohio.

I have been keeping a Beauty recipe book for years now, but I haven’t really been that active in keeping up with making my own body-care products. I feel guilty buying body and facial care products especially when I really go for the good quality ones. I love Burt’s Bees night cream especially in winter. But I don’t think I can afford it long term.

I have bought a bar of beeswax at the farmer’s market for ages now, and it has been sitting in my bedside table drawer ever since. I finally used it today, and I am quite pleased with the results. This time, I added some rose water to the cream. This one recipe cost me maybe like under $4! I think hubs is happy with that, because I think for years, he probably feels like he’s been paying for my face. Well, if I can keep up with this, maybe we can save a few more dollars from going towards facial care.

These photos tell it all!

Combine the grated beeswax with the oil and heat in a water bath till beeswax melts.

Bring borax mixture [distilled water + 1/8 tsp borax] almost to a boil and add to the melted beeswax mix

Stir briskly or blend. I was too lazy to dirty my blender, so I stirred it manually, with the help of my five year-old until it thickened. As it cooled down, I added some rose water.

Then came time to delightfully pour it into these sterilized containers. I had washed these containers, and boiled them with vinegar several times.

I ended up with 3 Burt’s Bees night cream containers and 1 slightly bigger Aveeno night moisturizer container!

9 thoughts on “Making My Own Facial Moisturizer

Leave a Reply

