Rotten Apples

Eeek! The Ten Mistakes on HOLT Uncensored made me wince and blush in silent embarassment. I found myself in there, not in all ten, thankfully, but in more than two. That was enough to make me squirm in my seat.

‘Crutch’ words. I recently noticed one in Monsoon Diary, such that it prompted me to look up the meaning. Ok, I admit, I didn’t know what it meant, but I could tell from the context when reading the book. Somnolence. I found it being used repeatedly. Hey, if a lay reader like me notices it, it must be a ‘crutch’ word, right? Now, I’ll be on the lookout for my ‘crutch’ words. I can think of a few I tend to love repeating. Erk!

Rotten apples. I guess there are a lot of them in our writing. Dig them out, scan for them with merciless eyes, and then scan again, and again. Who said writing is easy?

Leave a Reply

