Too Little Time for Hours of Voluntary Prayers?

Whenever I can, I will try to jot down notes from the AlHuda Ramadan Course Certificate here inshaallah. That is, provided that I am not whisked away by Baby Zoa, who had just silently pressed the standby button, thus rendering my screen blue and black. Subhanallah.

Today is my first day, and so far, I have managed to jot down the below. May this be of benefit inshaallah.

27: Muhsin Khan: And if all the trees on the earth were pens and the sea (were ink wherewith to write), with seven seas behind it to add to its (supply), yet the Words of Allah would not be exhausted. Verily, Allah is All­Mighty, All­Wise. (Surah Luqman 31:27)

Juwairiyah bint Al-Harith (May Allah be pleased with her) reported, the Mother of the Believers: The Prophet (PBUH) came out from my apartment in the morning as I was busy in performing the dawn prayer. He came back in the forenoon and found me sitting there. The Prophet (PBUH) said, “Are you still in the same position as I left you.” I replied in the affirmative. Thereupon the Prophet said, “I recited four words three times after I had left you. If these are to be weighed against all you have recited since morning, these will be heavier. These are: Subhan-Allahi wa bihamdihi, `adada khalqihi, wa rida nafsihi, wa zinatah `arshihi, wa midada kalimatihi [Allah is free from imperfection and I begin with His praise, as many times as the number of His creatures, in accordance with His Good Pleasure, equal to the weight of His Throne and equal to the ink that may be used in recording the words (for His Praise)].”[Sahih Muslim].

Juwariyyah radhiallahu anhaa probably spent at least 3 hours in worship, but those four words recited three times would outweigh all those hours of worship. This is not to say that she had done it all in vain, but subhannallah, Allah, out of His Mercy has given us alternatives that are easier especially for those of us who are always pressed for time.

No excuses. If we don’t have enough time to pray hours and hours of voluntary prayers, and I am thinking as I write this, that mothers especially would really appreciate this tasbih, we can recite this three times and it would be heavy on our scale inshaallah!

Such an easy way to attain a lot. Another reason for deep reflections on our part.

sub7haanallahi wabi7hamdihee ‘adada khalqihee wa ridhaa nafsihee wazinata arshihee wamidaada kalimaatihee

Allah is free from imperfection and I begin with his praise, as many times as the number of His creatures, in accordance with His Good pleasure, equal to the weight of His throne and equal to the ink of His words (that may be used in the recording of His praise)

Leave a Reply

